Exploring the theme of “Rest” and “Wonder”

I feel a stirring deep within me to, “Come away . . .” To push aside the financial burdens, the relationship and work stress, the unanswered questions, and the dreams left undone – to set all those swirling thoughts aside for quiet. I sense a “tucking in,” reflective, introspective-ness about my heart this morning. There is a longing to be still and find Him in the stillness.

Too often I am caught up in what I think is best. I don’t even want to analyze my perspective today but rather just sit at His feet and hear what He thinks. To stop striving long enough to hear Him say, “I AM.”

“I am Here. You are not alone. I see the tears, the joy, the struggle, the bedtime tickles and snuggles between you and your little one.

I am Yours. You are my beloved and I am yours. I do care about you. I do love you. I cherish every hair on your head.

I am Present. I am with you. You have not been abandoned by me. Don’t look at the circumstances. Look at Me. Look at the scars on my hands.  I conquered death for a relationship with you. I am with you right now.

Shhh – it’s okay to be quiet for a while. It’s okay to just do the next thing, the thing right in front of you and not have all the answers. It’s okay, I am pleased with your desire to know Me, to trust Me. I see and know the longings of your heart. It’s okay to be still for today.”

Balancing the stirring to “Come Away” in the midst of a demanding work day, and then home to be mom to a vibrantly active little one – that is my challenge. To pause, to push the noise aside and still. . . .  To find Him at work in me, binding my broken heart, rejoicing with me in new life, new dreams awakening. To allow him to fill the gaps, the spaces that appear to be empty — He is there. Right? Praying for the eyes of my heart to see beyond the circumstances of the moment.  The circumstances of the moment overwhelm. I want them to fade to the background, to choose joy, to love, to choose hope anyway. He may be found in fleeting moments of a glance to the sky, the sound of a bird, a gentle breeze. Found in the quiet moments stuck in traffic or waiting in line at the store. His radiance in the stillness.

Psalm 17:6-8

“God, I call to you because you will answer me. Listen to me. Hear my prayer. Show the wonder of your great love. By using your powerful right hand, you save those who go to you for safety from their enemies. Take good care of me, just as you would take care of your own eyes. Hide me in the shadow of your wings” Image

Isaiah 41:10

“So do not fear, for I am with you; do not be dismayed, for I am your God. I will strengthen you and help you; I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.”

 

Leave a Reply

